Help identifying Speedmaster

General watch-related discussion
burauzaa
VIP
VIP

Help identifying Speedmaster

Post by burauzaa »

Can anyone tell me anything about this speedy from these pictures?

From what I can tell the lack of "Professional" on the dial means it's mid-late 60s. Obviously missing the crown, and I think stem.

Can anyone tell me the reference from these? What movement is in it? Just general thoughts?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Yoda
Honorary moderator
Honorary moderator

Re: Help identifying Speedmaster

Post by Yoda »

Depending on the decade it was made, it ought to be either a calibre 861, 1861 or 1863.

In the 1950s and early 1960s it was the calibre 321, I have one of those on my bench now.
Enviado desde mi fucking Samsung S8.
mountaineer
Tinkerer
Tinkerer

Post by mountaineer »

I know enough about Speedmasters to be dangerous . . . I am far from an expert and use this info for basis of further verification.

if all parts original to the watch:

That is s stepped dial with applied logo. Omega stopped using this dial style in mid 1970's.

The movement is either a 321, or 861. The 861 was introduced in 1968.

The case shape gives more clues. The crown and pushers are not protected by crown guards. The lugs are straight (not twisted) This tilts the case to 1963-1969, model 105.003. This would be a movement 321.

The case back tells it is prior to 1970. These are called pre moons.

You are correct with time range for non professional dial.

Bracelet looks like 7912, this would be 105.003 also.

My guess is mid 1960's, 105.003, 321 movement.

Opening case back would tell more. The watch is definitely worth looking into further.
Yoda
Honorary moderator
Honorary moderator

Post by Yoda »

The lugs to the right looks "twisted", the ones to the left is harder to identify because of the angle and reflection.
burauzaa
VIP
VIP

Post by burauzaa »